Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

What can I do in my situation?

curethevoid17curethevoid17 Registered User Posts: 32 Junior Member
edited August 21 in Ivy League
I’m a rising sophomore and I need some good advice on what I can do if I want to want to attend an Ivy League or top school if I live in a rural area with little to no oppurtunities for extracurricular activities. I’m originally from Los Angeles but moved to a small underrepresented town in the NC boondocks during middle school. The high school I attend has clubs that are pretty mediocre with little extracurricular activities available beside the usual common kind(student council, student ambassadors, interact, beta club etc.) the problem I have most is with extracurriculars which I guess include clubs. I really am interested in the medical field but, the town I live in has almost no activities to demonstrate my intrest and pasion for the medical field. I am only currently volunteering at the small hospital in my town and the local hospice which is about it... I guess I am also a URM since my parents are immigrants from Central America, of low income (<40,000) and first gen. Yes I am aware that there are other great schools that are cheaper and