Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Any chance of getting accepted to Tier 1 school?

FrankieSaysRelaxFrankieSaysRelax Registered User Posts: 51 Junior Member
Hey. I'm seriously considering law school for IP/tech law and am wondering if I'll possibly stand a chance to get into Columbia or NYU law. I'm a non-traditional student at NYU's college of professional studies - 30 years old. I'm part-time finishing up my degree in the spring. I'm not sure if I qualify as a "URM" but my family is Middle Eastern / North African.

I have been dealing with Epilepsy for my most of my adult life. Would the disability help or hurt my chances of being accepted? Should something like that be disclosed?

My major is Information Systems Management with a GPA of 3.6 - 3.65 and I've been working full-time since I was 16 years old. I have work experience in everything from IT to web design to construction to manufacturing.

I'm wondering if I study for the LSAT for something like 6-9 months, what type of score I'd need to get accepted to NYU or Columbia and what else I would need to consider . highlight that would increase my chances of being accepted?

Also, I'm married with a child so I definitely do not qualify as a typical applicant. would that be seen as a big downside to admissions departments?

I appreciate any advice or help. Thanks.

Replies to: Any chance of getting accepted to Tier 1 school?