Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

wayne state medstart program

paki786paki786 Registered User Posts: 862 Member
ok so im a sophomore in high school
gpa around 4.0 somewhere there
taking AP us history right now
involved in some e.cs like:
-quiz bowl, student council (freshman), spanish honors society, hosa, chess club, district chess club, chess tournament 5 time winner, volunteer at hospital

so can u guys give me advice on the types of classes/extra curriculars/ skills that are recommended for this program...i really want to get in once im in college
Post edited by paki786 on

Replies to: wayne state medstart program

• paki786paki786 Registered User Posts: 862 Member
    its too early for me actually
    use this just as a disscussion
  • Central PerkyCentral Perky Registered User Posts: 918 Member
    No, it's okay. There are some things you can start.

Classes: Honors, APs, most rigorous available, but WITHIN YOUR ABILITIES (don't overload!!!)

EC: Really anything that interests you. Don't do anything just for the sake of your application. However, you NEED medical-related EC. This includes hospital volunteering (which you're doing...good!), shadowing doctors, research, etc. Leadership EC are good (i.e. student council, which you're in), any other community service is nice, but keep it consistent...don't make a laundry list of it (think: longevity, commitment)