Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Desperate for advice on where to transfer from GWU

Chente1Chente1 Registered User Posts: 7 New Member
My story has many complexities and I hope I can do my best to effectively summarize it. Last year I was a freshman at GWU, I thought (like so many kids there do) I wanted to major in international affairs. Turns out, I hated it. I hated the environment at GWU and DC in general, in fact I'm mostly over anything politically related as far as a career goes. I'm Hispanic and from a low-income household and thus found it extremely hard to relate to anyone there. Additionally my grandfather passed away fall semester, and later my mother grew extremely ill as well in the Spring semester. As a result my grades were abysmal and I was subsequently placed on academic probation after my freshman year. Later my mother was forced to undergo serious surgery to remove some tumors (thankfully as of now they believe she is cancer-free). It would have been impossible for my parents to pay for tuition this year, although I only pay roughly half of overall GWU expenses, as well as my sister's tuition at UW and my mother's medical bills. I voluntarily took the year off so that my sister could finish her last year and my parents could get back on their feet.