Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Is the admissions process in US colleges becoming less fair?

marfrak98marfrak98 Registered User Posts: 8 New Member
edited May 9 in Nepal
.I am an European student, studying Engineering in a US college and recently I had an experience which made me a lot on how the admissions process works in US colleges. I applied initially to study in US and got in a few colleges, but living in another country at the time, isolated me from this whole process as the only communication I had with the universities was via email and did not know many people who were applying to US colleges. This year I decided to apply for transferring at Princeton University, which reinstated the transfer admission after many years. I knew my chances to get in were small, despite having many academic accomplishments, research experience, good recommendation letters etc. This paragraph was taken from Princeton University latest post on the new transfer class:

"Of the students receiving offers of admission, eight have served on active duty in the military or are currently serving. Three of the students offered admission are women; 10 are men. Eight self-identified as people of color, including biracial and multiracial students."