Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Ready for a Fresh Start

TacosAndTatersTacosAndTaters Registered User Posts: 9 New Member
edited December 2013 in Non-Traditional Students
Hello, CC!

I'm a third year engineering student at a California community college, and technically ready for transfer. However, I have a dark secret in my past that I fear will make it impossible to transfer, and would like some input from the community!

I spent my first-year at an out-of-state university purely because they offered me money, without actually preparing myself for the rigors of the study my scholarship demanded-I spent a lot of time wasting time playing video games, hating my roommate's boyfriend, and dining on a diet of Mountain Dew and cookie dough because no parents to say eat veggies. As such, I ended up leaving the university after two semesters and returning home with a 1.4 GPA and 31 units of C's, D's, and E's(you know, F's). It was an absolute disaster and embarrassing and overall stressful.