Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Sign Up For Free

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

  • Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Introducing a New Expert Content Section: Careers!

Chance me?

whylimerykwhylimeryk Registered User Posts: 9 New Member
Hi! I'm an international student currently living in Beijing. I'm looking at majors in Economics or Political Science and thinking of joining the equestrian team.

SAT: 2140 (770 Reading, 680 Math, 690 Writing)
GPA: 3.25/4.00
Courses: IB HL Literature, HL Economics, HL French, SL Math, SL Psychology, SL Environmental Science



ECs:

- Volunteered and was involved in an orphanage for the blind from 8th grade to present.
- Spent a summer in the Dominican Republic constructing sustainable housing for refugee and disadvantaged communities
-Fundraising and planning another trip back to the Dominican to pilot a sustainable drinking water program in those communities.
- Volunteered in an animal shelter for abandoned dogs. One semester Junior Year

- Interned at the Friends of Nature (Chinese Grassroots Environmental NGO)
- Interned at the Natural Resources Defence Council (NRDC)
- Interned with the Huarun Corporation (Under Valspar Corporation) in Hong Kong

- Nationally recognised equestrian athlete (Showjumping)
- Ranked 75th in China
- 2nd Place in the 2014 Youth National Showjumping Championships
- 11th at the Longines Beijing Equestrian Masters 90-100cm
- Various placings in the Longines China Tour 2013-2014 (Including one 1st Place)
- Competed at the FEI World Cup Jumping China League 2014 (May and October) For those who are familiar, here's my profile on the FEI website. https://data.fei.org/Person/Performance.aspx?p=9EA6B3333909D06028D9AC15D439E0CE

- Speaks fluent French and Chinese
- Played Piano for 8 years

Explanation of low GPA: I miss a LOT of school traveling across the country for horse shows. I ride on average 2 horses every day, which takes up from 2-3 hours. With a program like the IB, it's incredibly difficult and time staking to catch up once you miss a few classes

Here are the schools I'm applying to (My highschool only allows 10). I picked the schools mostly for their proximity to showjumping (equestrian) trainers. Ideally, the course load would be lenient enough for me to train and compete professionally on the East coast circuit.

Other schools:
BU
Skidmore
NYU
Sarah Lawrence
PSU
Drexel
Centenary
Marist
This discussion has been closed.