Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Transferring to Northwestern from community college?

MalcontentMalcontent Registered User Posts: 57 Junior Member
edited June 2012 in Northwestern University
Hey everyone, I graduated from high school in 2011, but because of personal issues that severely affected my high school GPA, I took a semester off from college and was forced by my parents to take classes at my drab and unchallenging community college. So far, I'm doing much better and I'll be a sophomore by the end of fall semester with a 4.0, so I was considering applying to transfer for spring 2013 (or would I be better off waiting to apply for fall 2013?), but I'm afraid that my high school record and lack of extracurriculars will overshadow my current school performance (granted, standards there are a bit lower) and decent SAT scores, especially considering Northwestern's transfer acceptance rate is even lower than its general acceptance rate.

Here's some of my basic info:
Major: Computer engineering
Unweighted HS GPA: 2.7
Current College GPA: 4.0
SAT Math: 670 (Strongly considering retaking to bring this score up, especially considering my major)
SAT Critical Reading: 730
SAT Writing: 710
APs: Psychology (5), English Language and Composition (4) [I'm aware NWU doesn't take 4s for Language]
Extracurriculars: Not much, though I do do frequent volunteer work