Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Parents going back to college

GTalumGTalum Registered User Posts: 2,684 Senior Member
My youngest has been out of college for 2 years. Somehow, I'm not feeling the life with an eye towards retirement and am enrolling this fall to get my doctorate (I have a master's and a post-masters certification). Perhaps it's because I have parents with dementia and I feel I need to continue not only the life of the mind, but to contribute to the world with meaningful research. I will also continue to work full time and take 6-9 credits per semester. Anyone else go back to school? Perhaps you should talk me out of it.

Replies to: Parents going back to college

• HImomHImom Registered User Posts: 29,534 Senior Member
    My mom went back for her master's in sprcial ed just before my older sister started. She used the money she earned to help with college expenses for us. She was a model student, earning top grades and seemed to enjoy the experience.

My friend got her PhD while being in charge of and teaching the CC paralegal program in our state. She worked full time plus the PhD load.

I admire those who do this and have flirted with it myself.
  • NorthernMom61NorthernMom61 Registered User Posts: 2,981 Senior Member