right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

2019 Gardening Thread

Replies to: 2019 Gardening Thread

• abasketabasket 19164 replies854 threadsRegistered User Senior Member
    I need to learn to be a better tomato trimmer - to trim off the little shoots/suckers so that the bottom of the plant is more lean and it doesn't become so much of a jungle. That I think would help with the overcrowding and dwarfing smaller plants especially in a raised bed.
    · Reply · Share
  • SincererLoveSincererLove 748 replies22 threadsRegistered User Member
    @abasket , I have started to trim tomatoes too. I think it is going to help to get more fruits and have fruits ripen quicker.

I have some buttercup this year. They just grow to half of the soccer ball and stop growing. Do anyone know why?

I do love to watch YouTube videos on vegetable gardening. Lol
    · Reply · Share
  • TiggerDadTiggerDad 1839 replies70 threadsRegistered User Senior Member
    I'm a newbie to gardening, starting this past May when we planted a bunch of vegie seeds, and half dozen fruit trees, grape vines and strawberries, etc. Our natural soil is pretty bad, so for vegies I made several raised beds. Surprisingly, and to my absolute delight, the fruits of my labor are now being realized -- literally! The zucchinis, lettuces, tomatoes, anaheim and jalepeno peppers, beets and the rest of them are producing like crazy.

One problem, however. Although I was ab"le to block all cracks and crevices around my huge yard to keep the bunnies out successfully, gophers are a different issue all together. These have been destroying things from under. I discovered several tunnels running along my raised beds, so I declared war on them.