right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
We've updated the Topics page of our website to better organize and share our expert content. Read more about it here.

Missing hikers in the news.

13»

Replies to: Missing hikers in the news.

• FlyMeToTheMoonFlyMeToTheMoon 2977 replies45 threadsRegistered User Senior Member
    I think I was suspicious from the start when the family starting suggesting Sheryl Powell was abducted. Granted I have no hiking experience, but it just seemed a real jump to me to assume abduction as opposed to being lost.
    · Reply · Share
  • oregon101oregon101 5497 replies136 threadsRegistered User Senior Member
    In populated Glacier this week. We have done nothing out of the ordinary yet we have been completely alone on both a hike and roads at times. It surprised me! This place is populated!
    Decades ago when I was 24 I lived with my BF in a farmhouse in Ind. . No phone. No tv.
    I was alone and walked across a bit away to a creek to meditate. Looked up and saw two men a very short distance away with guns. Dog and BF not so far away.
    I saw them before they ever saw me. Made sure they did not see me...
    Happened again in Conn. in a state forest, we were camping.We left and went to a motel.
    Just saying that weird and strange things can happen. Maybe nothing would have to me ( or her) but many many crimes are of convenience.
    · Reply · Share
  • 3sonsmom3sonsmom 260 replies0 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
    I’m too neurotic to hike in remote areas, never alone! I went canoeing with a group of female co-workers in the 80s and we did encounter a scary couple of guys, that sealed the fear for me! I couldn’t even watch the James Franco movie based on the true story. Our apprehension may have rubbed off on sons, haven’t heard any thrill seeking tales yet.
    · Reply · Share
  • Leigh22Leigh22 640 replies9 threadsRegistered User Member