right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

So it's time to buy a car.

SpaceshipSpaceship 289 replies54 threads Member
This is a hard one for me. Honestly, I'm a pretty crappy driver, and I've spend a lot of my life trying to make sure I can get by without a car. I mean, I'm getting a Masters in public transportation planning. I should be able to get by not owning a car. And, I can't. It's abundantly clear that I can't even become a public transportation planner in a big city without being able to drive, and newbies don't just get hired to the big leagues right out of grad school. Whether I should be on the road or not, I'm technically medically qualified to be on the road, and it is an expectation of my chosen career.

So, I'm buying a new car. Fact of the matter is, I shouldn't depend on modern technological safety features, but they exist, and I already know I'm not a great driver, so I'd rather go with a safer car. Plus, I can afford to buy a new car outright, without financing, if I don't buy some luxury six figure thing. Most important thing is, it has to be a hybrid or an electric. I won't buy a car that isn't. Furthermore, I'm a National Park junkie who feels excluded somewhat because I can't drive to parks, and I live in California where we have a metric ton of National and State Parks. Once I own a car, I'm going to want to roadtrip with it, take it on dirt roads, take it in the mountains, and stuff. My uncle had a Prius, and he got rid of it specifically because he's like me, and the Prius wasn't hacking it. Low floor and not very powerful. That suggests that the Prius wouldn't work for me. I'd also likely want to drive the car to Texas at some point in the Fall to visit family. This could kill fully electric for me, due to range and charging time alone. Long road trips would be hard.