Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
The Forums will be unavailable Tuesday, June 25 starting at 9 am ET as we prepare for a major design update!

Encouraging girls in math and science

15678911»

Replies to: Encouraging girls in math and science

• bluebayoubluebayou Registered User Posts: 26,700 Senior Member
    I think you also need a cultural attitude where saying "I'm not good at math" or "I can't do math" would be looked at with the same reaction we would give someone who said "I'm not good at reading" or "I can't read". We tend to be very accepting of innumeracy in this country and I hear people saying these things all the time. How many times on these very forums?

Exactly. High schools generally require four years of reading/eng. for graduation, but why not four years of math?

Although I've noticed the trend to be changing, but how many times on cc do we see a parent (ahem, usually a mom), proclaim, 'I was not good in math and did fine, and my middle school D doesn't like math, so why should she track on to precalc/calc'?????
  • Much2learnMuch2learn Registered User Posts: 4,774 Senior Member
    I think that a lot of the problem is caused by a general belief among americans that math has more to do with natural ability than with practice and effort, so the first time someone says it is hard they decide that person does not have "the ability."