right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Doing what you love vs what makes money?

Replies to: Doing what you love vs what makes money?

• scout59scout59 3470 replies67 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 3,537 Senior Member
    You may not know what you love just yet.

I say that because I double-majored in English and chemistry a long time ago. I actually loved English (and writing) more but I thought chemistry was more practical.

I still enjoy creative writing - luckily, you can keep on writing and honing your craft even if you're not a writer by profession. As it turned out, though, I really love the practice of chemistry. I'm so glad I stuck with it.

Keep you mind clear and your options open. You don't have to declare a major or a choose a career yet.
    · Reply · Share
  • MiamiDAPMiamiDAP 16183 replies1 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 16,184 Senior Member
    You can do whatever you wish in college, but make sure to follow your plan to become financially independent on the first day after graduating from college. Making money yourself or marrying somebody or winning the lottery or winning in Las Vegas or whatever, you need to follow your plan that you did not state in your post.
    · Reply · Share
  • warbrainwarbrain 693 replies23 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 716 Member
    Fortunately for you, Princeton does not have a business major. Not only that, but Princeton is a school where one could major in English and still realistically claim to want to go into ibanking, for example. So at least when it comes to satisfying your parents, you should be fine, I think.
    · Reply · Share
  • toowonderfultoowonderful 4077 replies68 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 4,145 Senior Member
    Follow your heart and keep an open mind. You are lucky enough to be going to a world class school. Try things out. Find what speaks to you, and the rest will flow from there.
    · Reply · Share