right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

I'm surprised by some names on this list

Replies to: I'm surprised by some names on this list

• NEPatsGirlNEPatsGirl 2845 replies106 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 2,951 Senior Member
    There are some pretty highly ranked LACs on that list. Wonder how this list compares to one you might see on a ROI list of the top 50 LACs.
    · Reply · Share
  • college_querycollege_query 4237 replies304 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 4,541 Senior Member
    It's hard to know how much trust to put in these kinds of reports. What methodology was used to come up with these numbers?

I used to work at a university, and it was difficult contacting alums and getting them to respond to surveys. After students graduate, they don't always update their address/contact information.

I don't think I've ever been contacted by my alma mater to report my income, and if I was, I probably wouldn't respond. And ten years after I graduated I was a stay-at-home mom for a few years, so I would have driven the average salary numbers down!
    · Reply · Share
  • donnaleighgdonnaleighg 1548 replies33 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 1,581 Senior Member
    ^exactly. And you have no idea how many of these folks are in grad school 10 years out, and earning next to nothing. Agree I've never been contacted about salary, and I also wouldn't answer.
    · Reply · Share
  • Gator88NEGator88NE 6402 replies195 discussionsRegistered User Posts: 6,597 Senior Member
    Even the federal government is struggling to pull salary info by college. They can do it for Pell Grant recipients (the national student loan data system or NSLDS), but that's about it.

Here's the link to the Federal College Scorecard (for Albion College). You can tell this is where they are pulling income data for the list that was created.

https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/search/?name=Albion College&sort=advantage:desc
    · Reply · Share