Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Social Anxiety Disorder/Depression - How did you keep moving forward?

Replies to: Social Anxiety Disorder/Depression - How did you keep moving forward?

• LMK5LMK5 Registered User Posts: 102 Junior Member
    @BSL1199, I have some experience with this, and I think you've taken the correct action and will see surprising results in a few weeks. One of the challenges may be to make sure your son keeps up with the medication. Many times when people feel better they start missing doses and they revert back to their previous state and it becomes a cycle. They must be told to be relentless in their regimen.

One thing I'd suggest is for your son to consider engaging in a sport of some kind. It's amazing what a good physical workout can do for the mind. For boys, I'd especially recommend something that builds strength, like weight training. It's a big confidence builder and that can only help a boy of that age.
  • eb23282eb23282 Registered User Posts: 423 Member
    Another experienced parent here. D was diagnosed with depression, was in therapy and on Prozac. Became manic and attempted suicide. Switched to Zoloft which she didn't feel was helping at all. Switched again to Pristiq and she doesn't like that one either. Not sure where to go next - meeting with Dr. next week. I bring this up to let you know that it's a long process and everyone responds differently to each medication.