right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

How do I convince my mom to let me go to my first choice university?

mjbryantmjbryant 8 replies1 threads New Member
I am a high achieving student, and my parents have always tried to make sure I do my best so that my future is bright. I am strong in science and math, and for almost a year now when people ask me what I’m going to college for and what I want to be I have said I will major in biology and then go to PA school to become a physician’s assistant. In reality, I still have no clue what I want to do for the rest of my life but everyone thinks I have it all figured out. I applied to UNC Wilmington, UNC Chapel Hill, NC State University, and Auburn University. My mom is really fighting for UNC Chapel Hill because of the nationally ranked medical program and the high med-school acceptance rates, and because it is closer to home and we would pay in-state tuition. I want to go to Auburn because of family ties on my father’s side (he went, and my aunt and uncle went), and we watch every basketball, football, baseball and softball game Auburn plays. I love the atmosphere, the big D1 sports, the walkability of the campus, and it puts me a lot closer to family that I don’t get to see as often as I would like. Auburn has also offered me a substantial merit scholarship that would bring my out-of-state cost of attendance a good bit closer to the in-state rate. Every time I bring up the subject with my mom, she ends up overloading me with percentages and facts and information that leaves me feeling overwhelmed and defeated. Auburn also has relatively high acceptance rates to med-school because of their very reputable College of Science and Mathematics faculty, including the pre-health professions director, Beverly Childress, who is well known among medical schools. I know Auburn’s acceptance rates to med-school are not quite as high as UNC Chapel Hill’s, but if I end up deciding against following through wit