right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Join us for a LIVE webinar Friday, April 3 at 3pm ET to hear from admission officers on how COVID-19 is impacting admissions at schools. REGISTER NOW and let us know what questions you have and want answered.
As schools continue to announce their decisions, we put together the Class of 2024 RD Discussions Directory. Connect with fellow applicants NOW!

What Can I Do? My mom won't let me go to the college I want to go to.

GMDPPCGMDPPC 22 replies1 threads Junior Member
I'm a male Nebraska resident from a first-generation immigrant family living in Omaha with my parents. My family is pretty dysfunctional, but most of the dysfunction comes from my mom. I'm always afraid of going home because my mom always starts a fight with either my dad, brother, or me. I'm tired of living with her and I want to move to Crete, Nebraska and go to Doane University. My mom wants me to stay in Omaha and go to the University of Nebraska in Omaha and continue living with my family. No matter how much I try to convince my mom to allow me to go to Doane, she always starts a fight with me about it and calls me naive and says that I'm just as stupid as my autistic brother. I've been offered $28,000 per year to go to Doane, and I've been offered $2,000 per year to go to UNO (you do the math). Even though UNO is public and living at home is cheaper than at a dorm, I'd still be paying more money if I went to UNO. I have applied for external scholarships, but I've only earned one small $500 external scholarship so far out of all the external scholarships I've applied for, but I'm still applying for more. I've tried to sit my mom down and show her the math and all the facts between Doane and UNO, but she disregards everything I say and say that "it's not true" and that Doane is "lying about the scholarships" (even though they are literally in my financial aid package) or "they have hidden fees." My mom constantly comes up with reasons