Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Sign Up For Free

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

  • Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Phi Sigma Theta

A2Wolves6A2Wolves6 Registered User Posts: 4,232 Senior Member
edited November 2013 in Parents Forum
I have searched the forum and googled, and didn't really find much on this.

I got an invitation for Phi Sigma Theta in the mail and after reading that they wanted money in return for acceptance into the honors society, I thought that it was a scam.

However, I read on Yahoo Answers that it was something that admissions counselors looked at for graduate schools.

Anyone have any familiarity with the honors society? Is this worth spending money on?
Post edited by A2Wolves6 on

Replies to: Phi Sigma Theta

  • MidwestMom2Kids_MidwestMom2Kids_ Registered User Posts: 6,673 Senior Member
    This is not worth spending money on.

    Look for honors societies that have chapters at universities. Get into an honor society associated with your major.
  • my-3-sonsmy-3-sons Registered User Posts: 2,793 Senior Member
    Congrats on doing so well; here was a recent thread on honor societies.

  • MidwestMom2Kids_MidwestMom2Kids_ Registered User Posts: 6,673 Senior Member
    From that thread
    The degree to which most of these honor societies provide any benefit to students often depends on the local chapter at the school and how active it is, if at all.

    And this is why you need not join an honor society like Phi Sigma Theta that doesn't have a chapter at any university, that exists out of an office or P.O. Box somewhere.
  • 765sally765sally Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
    The address is just a UPS store in Florida. When you look up WHOIS for the website PHISIGMATHETA.ORG, the registrant, tech contact and administrator are all "David Smith", address, another PO box in Gainesville, Florida. The "benefits" are basically just a certificate, a tassel and a pin. The "resources" are just public resources, available to anyone--some of them are out of date. And, what a surprise! the "scholarship" is the "W.L.Smith scholarship!" Just another Florida scammer, raising money just in time for the holidays. Stay away.
This discussion has been closed.