right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Better to get average in advanced class or get A in normal class?

CCdudeCCCCdudeCC 13 replies9 threads Junior Member
edited September 2016 in High School Life
So I'm a sophomore this year, and I am taking pre-calc advanced. The other classes I'm taking are Chem(Honors), APUSH, French V(Honors), English II, Computer graphics, AP Econ, and gym, so I take a lot of honors classes. Last year I took geometry honors and in 8th I took Alg 2 honors.

Now, Im not the greatest at math. I passed with an A in alg 1, B+ in algebra 2 and a b in geometry. But this year, I think I got the worst teacher in the entire school. She doesn't even teach and relies on the kids. On top of this, she makes her quizzes and tests really hard, and she even grades really really harshly. I got a 50% on the first small quiz and I've been stressing about it all day. I have a test tomorrow and I really want to do well, but it's honestly impossible to do extremely well in her class. Believe me, I try, and I will for the next few days.

I have about 9 days to decide whether to drop down to normal precalc, before it actually shows that I dropped it.

I'm wondering if it is better to keep taking this class, and barely pass, and hopefully get better, or to drop down to normal precalc and get an A/A-???? Please help.

edited September 2016
8 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Better to get average in advanced class or get A in normal class?

• fallenchemistfallenchemist 24269 replies860 threadsHonorary Super Mod Inactive User
    Personally I think if you are looking at a C in this class, dropping down and getting an A- is better.
    · Reply · Share
  • CheddarcheeseMNCheddarcheeseMN 3558 replies12 threads Senior Member
    Regular pre-calc. It sounds like you weren't on the advanced track before, so I would keep on the same old track.
    · Reply · Share
  • gardenstategalgardenstategal 6310 replies10 threads Senior Member