Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

When is it normal to apply to vet school?

dusty928dusty928 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
I’m a student athlete at my school currently a junior in my spring semester. As a student athlete I feel that I haven’t been able to gain a lot of experience due to my lack of time during semesters and during the summer to work or intern with a vet. I’m afraid that if I apply my senior year spring and I don’t get in then I will be put back even later than what I should be. Somebody please give me some advice

Replies to: When is it normal to apply to vet school?

• momocarlymomocarly Registered User Posts: 505 Member
    Vet school applications are done the summer your senior year. They are due by Sept 15. Example right now acceptances are being sent out for Fall 2018. The applications open at the beginning of the summer so you have to apply a year before you are going to attend. Many people take a gap year and work to strengthen their experience and/or take some more classes. Some take more than a year. That is fine and it doesn't keep you from getting into vet school. Right now you could apply in the summer and see what happens and then try again the next year. Their is no harm in that. My guess is that taking a gap year may be the best thing for you. If you don't think you will have a strong application by June then take a year and strengthen it. You can also make some money to help with the costs!
  • ECmotherx2ECmotherx2 Registered User Posts: 1,840 Senior Member