Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Introducing a New Expert Content Section: Careers!

Secondary School Admissions Test (SSAT) Tips

ekstatikkekstatikk Registered User Posts: 21 New Member
I first want to say I am by no means an expert on this. These are just some studying tips that really helped me with the SSAT. In general, I recommend you get either the book or online study guides that the official SSAT page offers. Even if you don't buy a study guide you can take a free mini version of the SSAT online and it will help you to identify your weaknesses.

~Quantitive Section~
For me, math was not and still is not my thing. In my eighth grade year when I was applying to boarding schools, I was taking geometry. Really the test has more algebraic concepts than geometry concepts, so don't get stressed if geometry is not your thing.

Tips:
-Take some practice tests and figure out where your weak areas are. Focus more on improving these areas. Watch videos online to help you and if your teachers are willing to you can always get help after school.
-It's all about hard work. As Euclid said, "There is no royal road to geometry." Just keep working at it and eventually you will get it.

I'm sorry I don't have any more tips for the quantitive section because I don't really know any way to get better at math besides just good old fashion studying.

~Reading~