Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Sign Up For Free

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

  • Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

2010 Packard Fellows Announced (news item)

PtonGrad2000PtonGrad2000 Registered User Posts: 1,368 Senior Member
The Packard Foundation has just announced its 17 Packard Fellows for 2010. These are among the brightest young stars in science and engineering and each is awarded a grant of $875,000.00 for his or her research. This is one of the most generous award programs in academia.

Princeton's Professor William Jones in the Physics Department was a winner this year. No school in the country had more than one. Jone's work is in astrophysics, a Princeton department ranked by the National Research Council as the best in the nation. He works on ways of studying the early Universe through observations of cosmic microwave background radiation. His home page can be found here:

Physics Department, Princeton University - William Jones

Cornell was the only other Ivy to have a winner. MIT, Caltech, Berkeley, Northwestern, WUSTL, U. of Chicago and ten other schools were represented.

"William Jones, an assistant professor of physics, has been named a 2010 recipient of a Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering. Jones was recognized for his research in astronomy, astrophysics and cosmology and for his work testing models of the genesis and evolution of the early universe. Each fellow will receive an unrestricted research grant of $875,000 over five years. The program supports "unusually creative professors early in their careers," according to the Packard Foundation."

Princeton University - FACULTY AWARD: Jones wins Packard Award

"LOS ALTOS, California—The Packard Foundation has named 17 extraordinarily talented faculty members as the 2010 recipients of Packard Fellowships for Science and Engineering. Each Fellow will receive an unrestricted research grant of $875,000 over five years.

The Fellowship Program was established in 1988 and arose out of David Packard's commitment to strengthening research groups that are the heart of university-based science and engineering programs. By supporting unusually creative professors early in their careers, the Foundation hopes to develop scientific leaders, to further the work of promising scientists and engineers, and to support efforts to attract talented graduate students into university research in the United States. . . . (continued)"

The David and Lucile Packard Foundation : About the Foundation : News and Publications : Press Releases and Statements
This discussion has been closed.