Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

What does it take to get into Stanford?

celm12celm12 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
edited April 2013 in Stanford University
Hi. I'm currently a high school freshman, and I was wondering what it took to get into a great school like Stanford. I know that there's no "secret" to getting in, but I was just wondering what type of students were accepted. Thanks!
Post edited by celm12 on

Replies to: What does it take to get into Stanford?

• thelemonisinplaythelemonisinplay Registered User Posts: 494 Member
    To be considered, you'll need a high GPA (3.7 at the lowest) and SAT/ACT/subject test scores (2200+, 33+, and 700+). That's the bare minimum. On top of that, you'll need good EC's, leadership positions, and volunteering/community service. The most important thing is that you write a good college essay. Then, you have recs and interviews.
  • AustroHungarianAustroHungarian Registered User Posts: 346 Member
    "To be considered, you'll need a high GPA (3.7 at the lowest) and SAT/ACT/subject test scores (2200+, 33+, and 700+). That's the bare minimum."

Not true--you will be considered regardless of test scores/GPA.
  • thehaakunthehaakun Registered User Posts: 76 Junior Member
    ^Agree with AustroHungarian.

My SAT was a 2110, ACT was a 30. Subjet Tests were low 700s.
    You can look at the Stanford Class of 2017 Official Decisions thread to get a general idea of what "type" of students are accepted, but the overall student body does seem to be quite diverse.