Does which undergraduate school you attend really matter...?

<p>Or, to clarify things more: Is the education generally the same at every undergraduate program?</p>

<p>The reason I ask is because my parents insist I either go to a state school or a school where I have family living nearby. Even though I am only a high school sophomore, this has angered me a lot lately. My dream school is MIT, and from what I've heard, it's everything I would ever want in a school. The University of Colorado at Boulder is my backup with an extremely strong physics program (my prospective major). All of my immediate family lives in Florida, which is also my home state. UF is a good school and everything, but I desperately want to aim higher than that. My parents don't support my aspirations. My mother dismisses my ambitions as flat-out "unrealistic" and even told (yelled) me this afternoon that "You don't have a choice." (She claims that she never even had these chances when she was a teenager, but that comes off as a bit hypocritical...) My father, while more sympathetic, says the family can't pay for out-of-state tuition, and even if I get a scholarship, the economy is in the gutter right now and I wouldn't be able to land a grant for living expenses. Both of them say undergraduate education is the same everywhere. I guess a big part of their sentiment has to do with the fact that I am a small girl with mild cerebral palsy, and it's understandable that they would be worried for my safety from outside threats and self-caused accidents. Boston is too big and Colorado is too far away. They wouldn't be able to move there because it's too expensive. Basically, I'm screwed.</p>

<p>So ... does it matter at all where I go for undergrad? I feel kind of dejected right now, but if undergrad education really is the same everywhere, then I can feel okay about ignoring my idealism and listening to practicality.</p>