How important is it that I graduate high school?

<p>I'm currently a junior IB student. At my school, IB students are granted many special privileges, such as bypassing certain (useless) graduation requirements. AP/IB courses are weighted 5.0 while these requirement courses are 4.0s.</p>

<p>I'm thinking about quitting the IB program due to scheduling conflicts: I'm determined to be in choir (I sing competitively), but if I stay in IB, IB Math SL (the ONLY IB math we have...and a class I have to take) is offered in exactly the same period as choir. There is no way to move either class.*</p>

<p>So....I'm valedictorian right now, and I'd like to keep it that way for college apps. To stay valedictorian, however, I must take all weighted courses, besides choir, next year--in other words, I can't take those required 4.0s if I want to keep my rank.</p>

<ul>
<li><p>At top-tier colleges (Ivy, Stanford, Duke, Williams, etc.), how important is having a high school diploma? </p></li>
<li><p>Could not graduating high school affect me when I'm applying for jobs, etc.?</p></li>
<li><p>How bad does it look to quit IB halfway through the programme?</p></li>
</ul>

<p>*Interestingly, two IB students (there are only 14 of us...2/14 is rather significant) want to take choir, and the other one (besides me) actually plans to major in vocal music. Realistically, IB Math SL could be moved to the afternoons so that we could keep choir, but that would affect 1 IB student who plays basketball. The IB coordinator has chosen to make 2 of us quit choir instead of making that 1 person quit basketball. It's as if he knows the basketball person would be willing to quit IB, but he mistakenly believes we choir nerds aren't.</p>