Questions on Acceptance to Oxford

<p>Hi, I'm a student at one of the best prep schools in the country and I'm looking into applying to Oxford. On the website, it says that Oxford doesn't look at the whole package but really the grades and exam results. Can anyone take me through a step by step process on how Oxford runs its admission? Thank you</p>

<p>Ok this might take a while but I'll atempt to do it!
1. You have to apply through UCAS</a> - Home
2. Oxford and Cambridge are famous for mostly caring about academics and not so much about extracurriculars, so your Personal Statement (application essay) has to be at least 60% academics related.
3. When applying to the UK, you will have to apply to a certain course within the universities (e.g. Econ&Management), and in Oxford's case you need to apply to a college of your choice within the University (e.g Pembroke, Brasenose etc.) This is also why you have to express your desire to study your course in your essay and write on how you believe what you have studied at HS will make you a better candidate for the course and as your essay has to hold all the info use some of your ec's which you believe to be relevant (there is a limit of 4000 characters with spaces or 47 lines depending on which one comes first! so watch out)
4. You need to apply before the deadline posted on ucas.com (usually its around 15th of October)
5. After your application has been sent off, I believe Oxford will require a dissertation type essay on a subject related to the course you intend to study and again they will have to recieve it before the deadline they set.
6. If you recieve an interview it will mean that you have gotten through the first round! And in addition to this they will probably require you take an aditional test.
7. Finally you will recieve a reply no later than the 1st week of January.
8. Oxford has a 'pool' system much like being waitlisted so you may be made to wait or youll get acceptede or rejected!</p>