Suggestions for a science guy?

<p>I really want to go to any UC in the top tier, but in the event I get rejected I was wondering what are some good private schools I should also consider? UCSD is my match but I don't want to have only 1 match... I am a California resident and I want to go to a school with good science departments, specifically social sciences (psychology, sociology). I would like to stay in California, but if there are good schools on the east coast I am considering the move. </p>

<p>I am a pretty good student, Sophomore-Junior Year I had a 3.86 UW and 4.23 weighted GPA in academic classes only, and this year I am taking mostly APs and honors courses. I am a very math/science oriented person, so good English/History programs aren't of concern to me. My one-sitting SAT1 score is 2020, and my best individuals are 610 CR, 690 M, 730 Wr. SAT2s = 760 IIC, 750 IC, 690 Chem. I have about 120 hrs volunteering and 160 hrs work experience, and am in a couple clubs this year, nothing spectacular in terms of EC's. I am considering applying to NYU and USC, but what other schools would you recommend as matches/safeties?</p>

<p>AzNChoiBoi8:</p>

<p>UCB/UCLA: Slight Reach
UCSD: Match
UCI/UCD/UCSB: Safe Match
UCSC/UCR/UCM: Safety</p>

<p>thanks for the reply, but i already have some kind of idea where i stand in terms of uc's. i was wondering what private schools are in my range that suit my interests (specifically a really great psych program).</p>

<p>Well if you are talking about psych., no school in the nation can beat Stanford, but im sure if UCSD is your match, Stanford is beyond your level (no offense, but im just being realistic).</p>

<p>There are not many private schools in California (Pepperdine and USC are the most notable ones besides Stanford and CalTech).</p>