Will spending a lot of time on this be worth it when applying for Ivy Leagues?

<p>So, first off, I am new to this forum and hope this is the right subforum to post this question under. Regardless, I am a freshman in high school and I have recently been very obsessive about doing everything I can to improve my chances with the Ivy Leagues, many of which have seen consecutively declining admission rates. But now, for my question:</p>

<p>I remember hearing about a kid who learned, by himself, 7 languages. He made it to Harvard, and the guy who was talking about him called this a much-needed "wow factor." And, really, it is. I already know English and plan on taking Spanish for my 4 years in high school, but have started learning French on my own time. I know that learning a language properly takes a lot of time, and more so learning several languages within the next 3 or so years, so may I ask, is it worth it to spend a lot of my free time self-learning languages?</p>

<p>You see, the thing is that I enjoy and feel good learning a new language by myself, and I think it will help me in several ways. So please do answer with your HONEST thoughts, and if you can answer one more question: Do the applications for most colleges ask how many languages you know? </p>

<p>Thanks, and please answer.</p>

<p>
[quote]
You see, the thing is that I enjoy and feel good learning a new language by myself, and I think it will help me in several ways.

[/quote]
</p>

<p>This is the thing--the only thing--that would make learning languages on your own worth doing.</p>