Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Strong acting AND strong academics?

peggysuepeggysue Registered User Posts: 208 Junior Member
edited September 2009 in Theater/Drama Majors
Hi- I'm a sophomore with the grades and extracurriculars to consider Ivies and their equivalent, but I also really love acting. In fact, acting and medical school are my two top current choices for where I'm going after college (sorry about the weird grammar there). College requirements: Co-ed, not teeny, lots of strong departments. Where can I look that offers a strong acting program (hopefully a B.F.A option) as well as great academics if acting turns out to not be my thing?

Thanks!
Post edited by peggysue on

Replies to: Strong acting AND strong academics?

• DuyguDuygu Registered User Posts: 484 Member
    Yale is great for theater and has very strong academics.
  • gadadgadad Registered User Posts: 7,772 Senior Member
    I've had two daughters in your same position. It's a tough decision - you cannot have a BFA Theatre program and significantly benefit from the academic offerings of your school - the BFA will take just about all the time after your core requirements, perhaps all those and then some.