Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Transfer to BROWN/DUKE/UPENN

GoEaglesGoEagles Registered User Posts: 38 Junior Member
edited December 2010 in Transfer Students
I am a freshman at a top 20 college interested to further climb the USNEWS ladder (don't worry, I'm not transferring out simply because of rankings).

Questions:
1. Do most colleges see 1st & 2nd semester final grades or just 1st semester?
2. Does the fact that I attend a top University help admissions?

I am interested in applying to my dream schools that I failed to be admitted to in HS: Brown, Duke, UPenn.

Currently have a 4.0
Post edited by GoEagles on

Replies to: Transfer to BROWN/DUKE/UPENN

• Boldyreff1Boldyreff1 Registered User Posts: 172 Junior Member
    1) Don't know
    2) I think absolutely

Great, will do the same if not admitted :D
  • tsakashvilitsakashvili Registered User Posts: 193 Junior Member
    I think I can provide some answers to your questions and a few extra pointers. First, to give a bit of background about myself, I applied to all three of those schools, as well as several more. I was accepted to Brown and Penn, and was waitlisted at Duke (I took Brown's offer of admission before Duke told me whether or not they would accept me from their waitlist). My point in saying this is that I was in your shoes last year, and I understand some of the challenges and questions you may be facing right now, as well as how to answer them. If you have any questions about this whole process, feel free to PM or email me.