right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Transferring to a top-tier school for CS

alphaBoy00alphaBoy00 7 replies1 postsRegistered User New Member
edited August 7 in Transfer Students
Hey guys,

I'm an incoming freshman at UC Irvine. I was originally going to UC Riverside, but I got off the Irvine waitlist about a week ago (likely due to local preference). I'm currently undeclared and trying to get into data science. However, I'm still hoping to transfer schools within the next year. Although UC Irvine is a great school, it doesn't offer the opportunities I'm looking for.

I'm not 100% sure what I'm going to do after college, but I do have a couple of plans. Right after college, I plan to get a master's in AI and possibly an MBA. I'm also interested in quantitative finance and would like to land a quant role at a hedge fund or prop shop. I'm interested in this find the work analytically interesting and just like thousands of others, I find the compensation really attractive. I'm also interested in startups and I may decide to found one or join an early stage one. Unfortunately, pedigree is very important in these areas (i.e. finding trading jobs or securing startup funding).