Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

What are my chances for CA in-state tuition?

norcaljoganorcaljoga Registered User Posts: 18 New Member
edited July 2011 in UC Transfers
So here is the deal, my parents moved out of California back in 2006 (I was a junior is hs). I did not move with my parents, I stayed in CA with an older brother (legal guardian), where I graduated from high school (2007), and where I also graduated from community college (spring 2010). I transferred to UCI in the fall of 2010, but dropped out due to financial difficulties. After desperately looking for a job in CA for over a month, I decided to spend some time with my parents in AR, where they had moved to. I found a job relatively easy in AR (been working since October of 2010 to present). So I re-apply to UC last november, got into UCSB and SIRed to it. Back in April, UCSB considered me a Cali resident, so they offered me a good financial aid package. *After submitting my Statement of Legal Residency, UCSB decides that I no longer quialify for instate tuition for the fact I reported my 2010 tax income in the state of AR (for the months of Oct-Dec). I found it hard to get employed in CA when I dropped ouy of UCI, so I had no choice but to move in with parents temporarily for financial support. I did not plan on staying in AR for so long, unfortunately I found an okay job. In the submmitted Statement of Legal Residency, however; I did state my parents' address as both, my permanent and current address because at that time my brother in CA got his hou