Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Is dropping out for a job in SF a good idea?

presvinaypresvinay Registered User Posts: 8 New Member
I am a 1st yr undergrad student who is only in college because my parents want me to be here. I have to pay $35,000 out-of-state tuition for Cal and my major is Political Science, which is my plan B I guess (going into politics). I want to start my own business in creating apps and designing software. With the assumption that businessmen don't need to go to school for business (please don't debate this), should I get an apartment near San Francisco and get a job there where I can get real business experience and make money? What type of job do you think I could land in SF?

For me it's business over everything and that's the only thing I want to do. I don't need to learn to code b/c I have people that I hire (using investor money) to do it.

My parents are back home in GA and I would have to hide the fact that I dropped out from them.

Replies to: Is dropping out for a job in SF a good idea?

• failure622failure622 Registered User Posts: 1,354 Senior Member
    Personally I'd say that sounds like a bad idea.

What happens if your app doesn't go as well as you'd hoped? If you have a degree, plan B is a lot easier to go with. Lying to your parents also seems pretty sketchy. I'd say get the degree, then you have options if the worst should happen. Also, apartments in SF are crazy expensive, you'd be better off staying here and commuting.