Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Applying to Berkeley as an immigrant who has done his high school abroad. What re my Chances!!!!!??

anandjlanandjl Registered User Posts: 10 New Member
Firstly , I think I should explain my situation. I'm an indian student who
just graduated from a reputed high school in Dubai, U.A.E. I'd spent most of my time living as an expatriate with my family . My school followed the CBSE curriculum (indian curriculum) and I'd performed well enough in my last year (Overall at 86 percent which in gpa terms is around 3.44). But recently my family received an immigrant visa after 13 years of waiting , just as my high school ended in april. We're scheduled to move to California state in mid july. Just like other immigrants i was quite excited about the prospects of such a journey!
y dream is getting into UC Berkeley but due to the fact I became an immigrant only in april 2015 , I'd long passed the deadline for fall 2015 admissions. Hence, I'll have to join a community college in the mean time.
But I still wish to join berkeley as a freshman and soak in the experience completely!
So I'm planning to apply again next year. The bigger question here is how would berkeley view me as an applicant ( who's done most of high school outside the united states and is now an immigrant!?)
I'd like to hear from all of you.
GO Bears!!!
Post edited by Chedva on

Replies to: Applying to Berkeley as an immigrant who has done his high school abroad. What re my Chances!!!!!??