Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Where to live?!

sarmiebsarmieb Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
I'm a transfer student in my first year and Carolina, and I have had an absolute terrible time getting to know people and feeling apart of the community here. I thought that living off campus would be the best way to meet people because I'm a senior age-wise, but junior status according to UNC, and I thought everyone living on campus would be much younger than me. I transferred from a CC wayyy outside of the area, so I knew virtually nothing about the area, and no one coming. After a brief visit I decided to stay at the Warehouse because it seemed relatively safe, close, leased by the bedroom, and offered a "roommate matching service." It was definitely my own fault, I should have researched the living situations better, but the place was the like the panhellenic's personal night club. I did okay the first few months, and got along with my roommates fine, but they were a mix of girls from diff sororities and there was so much backstabbing and ish talk that I just had to get out of there for own sanity. I'm currently living in Cary and commute everyday which is probably just as worse cause now I feel like an absolute alien on campus, with ZERO friends or connection to the campus. I really want to be more involved on campus next year, and live some place I fit in a bit better. I applied for student housing, and got Ruffin but am on the waiting list for Old West or Old East-- from what I've heard these are mostly uppercla