Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Sign Up For Free

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

  • Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

New Honors for USC Professors

Georgia GirlGeorgia Girl Registered User Posts: 3,771 Senior Member
USC professors have earned many honors. Recently six faculty members have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. All of these are noted in their fields and biographies can be found on the SC website. Honored as Fellows are:

Dr. Frank Gilliand
Dr. Robert Maxson
Dr. Rob McConnell
Dr. Berislav Zlokovic

All the above are from the USC Keck School of Medicine

Dr. Kenneth Nealsun--Dornsife
Dr. Nicos Petasis-Dornsife

Replies to: New Honors for USC Professors

  • Georgia GirlGeorgia Girl Registered User Posts: 3,771 Senior Member
    The USC Viterbi School of Engineering has faculty who have been honored recently.

    Received National Science Foundation Career Awards:

    Dr. Buroin Gerber
    Dr. Malancha Gupta
    Dr. Ben Reichardt

    Dr.Michael Waterman has been elected to the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He is only one of two Americans elected who are not of Chinese descent. Earlier in the fall he received the China Friendship Award.

    Dr. Mike Gruntman has been honored by election to the International Academy of Astronautics.

    Dr. Nitin Kale received the SAP Visionary Member Award given by the SAP University Alliance.

    Foreign Policy has chosen Dr. Ted Berger as a 2013 Global Thinker for his innovations in biomedical engineering. He also was honored with the EMBS Career Achievement Award.

    Four Viterbi faculty were named Fellows of the IEEE:

    Dr. Ramesh Govinden
    Dr. John Heidemann
    Dr. Stefan Schaal
    Dr. Cyrus Shahabi

    Popular Science Magazine names the "Brilliant Ten" each year. Dr. Andrea Armani was named one of the ten for 2013.

This discussion has been closed.