Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Introducing a New Expert Content Section: Careers!

Science Course Difficulty

ZFanaticZFanatic Registered User Posts: 1,591 Senior Member
So I'm currently a freshman at Cornell looking to transfer elsewhere. There's a lot of things, but long story short Cornell's just not the right place for me. Unfortunately I have two strikes against me for transferring. 1, my GPA isn't that good... Like a 2.9 or 3.0 by the end of this year. I mean it's not BAD, but it's certainly not that spectacular. and 2, I haven't applied anywhere and most schools are April 1 deadlines for fall admission. So I've got a few schools on my list, UTD being one of them since I live <5 minutes away, and I know it's got a very respectable science program.

I'm wondering how hard the curves and such are there. One of the hardest things about Cornell is simply competing with these kids for the A, and it's just nuts. I mean I hold my own, I'm doing quite well in Chemistry which is what I'll be majoring in, but still getting the A in a B- median class is just challenging. Will I be killed by UTD curves in orgo and physics?