Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Lab courses

ArcanenArcanen Registered User Posts: 9 New Member
edited April 2010 in University of Virginia
I'm an international student looking to come to UVA for the fall semester. I've organized with my home institution to receive credit for a number of courses. The list of units I have arranged to receive credit for do not include the associated lab courses.

Is it possible to do a course without the associated lab? Will I struggle in the course if I do this? For example, if I did the course ECE 3250 Electromechanical Energy Conversion (I know this doesn't run during the fall), would I be forced to do ECE 3255 Electromechanical Energy Conversion Laboratory? Would I be at a significant disadvantage for not doing the lab?
Post edited by Arcanen on

Replies to: Lab courses

• shoebox10shoebox10 Registered User Posts: 3,559 Senior Member
    I know that course personally, and yes, you have to do the lab. All ECE classes, except a select number of 400-500 level courses, you have to take the lab. The classes are usually 3 or 4 credits, but the lab is part of those credits.
  • ArcanenArcanen Registered User Posts: 9 New Member
    The two ECE courses I am looking at are actually 4000 level courses. 4710 - Communications and 4850 - Linear Control Systems. Both courses are listed in the course catalog as lecture being the only required course component (ECE 3250 seems to list a lab as a required course component). The descriptions also mention prerequisites but don't mention the labs.