Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Chances???

TheUWBoundTheUWBound Registered User Posts: 21 New Member
edited February 2013 in University of Washington
I'm just a sophomore in high school but I have my eyes set on UW. Thing is, I started off high school sucking grades wise. This is where the damages stand as of now (through semester 1 of sophomore):

State: Virginia
Race/Gender: White/Male
GPA (Weighted): 3.1
AP's: 1
AP Score: Ap Human Geo = 5
SAT: 2010
No extra activities
Guitar player/musician

So how do I stand as of now and what should I do in the future? Also, next year should I do a marketing co-op program where I get 2 credits for taking a marketing class and having a job, while getting early release? Or should I stack up on top classes and do well? And if I do do the marketing co-op should I only have one period early release or up to three early release periods?
Post edited by TheUWBound on

Replies to: Chances???

• UDUBHUSKIESUDUBHUSKIES Registered User Posts: 751 Member
    Wait, so you have NO ECs? You have to have something...
  • SoDoMojoSoDoMojo Registered User Posts: 222 Junior Member
    The good news is you're only a sophomore and you already have a 2000+ SAT score. Keep working and get it up even higher by senior year, you'll need to since your other stats aren't great.

Also sign up for as challenging of a courseload as you can while still maintaining A's (or close to that). As of now it will be difficult, but there is definitely still time to bring that GPA up if you work hard.