Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

I don't know if this college is right

bluebird22bluebird22 Registered User Posts: 1 New Member
Hey,
This is my first time using this website and I'm a little nervous to post... Right now, I'm going to an art school in Florida for computer animation and I'm not sure if I should stay or not. There's a lot of reasons that I'd like to leave, including the fact that the location of the school itself and the area isn't comfortable or a good fit for me (the school is surrounded by a sort of dangerous area, with frequent reported incidents of mugging and drugs). I also am not a big fan of the weather, being from the northeast and am not used to the humid heat of Florida.
The school also recently got a new Vice President, who is making a lot of unnecessary and frankly ridiculous changes to the semester and the way the classes are run (thanks to him, our semester is now 18 weeks long). The school also doesn't allow students to miss any more than 1 class or they'll deduct points from your final grade, which makes sick days virtually impossible (I've seen students come into class in immense pain and seriously ill, who couldn't afford to miss class that day).