right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
We've updated the Topics page of our website to better organize and share our expert content. Read more about it here.

Film-related programs on East Coast

LA91116LA91116 12 replies4 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
My child would like to stay on the East Coast for college (she's still a sophomore so we're early). It seems that the selective colleges have more writing-oriented and theoretical programs that aren't necessarily hands on. I'm a Penn grad, so I was considering that program for her, but it seemed so theoretical (and their web site was such a turn off!) Is there a happy medium between "trade school" and theory?
16 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Film-related programs on East Coast

• Artful4artArtful4art 86 replies3 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
    Have you looked at Emerson? NYU? You are really looking for schools that have great networking opportunities. A lot of people who pursue film degrees would consider the degree worthless to the industry. If she wants to be a hands on filmmaker, consider skipping college and moving her to LA and have her break into the industry on the ground floor, because that is more likely than not the same spot she will find herself post college. If she wants to be a serious filmmaker, she should study humanities in college and minor in film. Philosophy and literature are probably the best skills a college can offer that she wouldn’t learn on the job. She should look at the filmmakers journeys of the artists she respects and enjoys and see if their path makes sense with the current industry and the one projected in the future.
    · Reply · Share
  • LA91116LA91116 12 replies4 threadsRegistered User Junior Member
    Thank you, great advice. NYU, BU and Emerson are on the list.
    · Reply · Share
  • aquaptaquapt 1961 replies37 threadsRegistered User Senior Member