Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Please take a moment to read our updated TOS, Privacy Policy, and Forum Rules.

Homework at Wash U?

dstarkdstark Registered User Posts: 34,241 Senior Member
How much hw does the business or econ major get in a week?
Post edited by dstark on

Replies to: Homework at Wash U?

• jdmhsujdmhsu Registered User Posts: 4 New Member
    I graduated from WU recently as a business student.

Business majors are part of the business school. We don't have econ majors - or at least not many. Business classes are, for the most part, pretty easy first year. I would say you spend about 3-4 hours outside of class for every class in your first year. Considering you might take just 2-3 b-school classes, that's not a lot of time. 2nd or 3rd year? It depends on which major.

The hardest thing is group projects. At Wash U, they really hone that skill in, and there's many-a mad rush to get things completed with group projects. Almost every class has a ridiculous group assignment that's semester-long. Some are more reasonable than others, but that's where your time will be sunk into - learning how to work with people. Naturally, when working with other people, you'll get those that don't hold up their weight or are hard to deal with. That's the most stressful part and that's what will suck up your time. But that's what will give you the best skills later on when you graduate.