Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Sign Up For Free

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

  • Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Share feedback related to your experience on College Confidential to help us shape future initiatives.

If you had my stats, where would you apply?

ipodlover88909ipodlover88909 Registered User Posts: 167 Junior Member
edited November 2012 in What Are My Chances?
If you had my scores, ECs, etnicity, etc. where would you aim for reaches, matches, and safeties. I would prefer somewhere urban and not rural, but if there's like mountains and stuff I'd be fine with that :)

My stats are:
SAT: 2250 [740 CR, 710 Math and 800 Writing]
APs: World History(5), Psych(5), US History(5) and Eng Lit(4)
Subject Tests: World History(720), Math1(690) - I'm retaking this, US History(760)
Current Courses: AP Stat, AP French, AP Environmental Science, AP Gov, AP Eng Lit
GPA: 4.17 Weighted 3.95 Unweighted. My school's weighting sucks; my gpa doesn't do me justice because I've taken lots of AP/Honors classes and have all As on my transcript except for 1 B in 8th grade Algebra 1
Rank: Top 3% about 20/650

Recs: Teachers like me pretty well, my History teacher loves me
ECs: Model UN 2 years, volunteered at my school's health department 3 years, school newspaper 3 years (editor this year and had my own column in every issue for 2 years), president of msa, Young Democrats, Obama Campaign, French Honors Society and a couple others (im blanking)
Awards: Distinguished Honor Roll every semester All 4 years of high school, AP Scholar w/distinction, Dartmouth Book Award, and Outstanding Achiever in the National Merit Scholarship Test (PSAT)

Majors: 1st choice is Psychology, 2nd is History/Gov
State: VA, public school
Gender: Female
Income: low (30-40,000)
"Hooks:" I'm an URM; my parents and I immigrated from Africa when I was younger (I consider myself African-American) & I'm a first generation college student (my mom has a hs diploma, my dad started but didnt finish hs)

Thanks in advance for advice! :)
Post edited by ipodlover88909 on

Replies to: If you had my stats, where would you apply?

This discussion has been closed.