Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

Worth trying for Harvard, Stanford, MIT?

panttigrispanttigris Registered User Posts: 18 New Member
Hi,

I'm an international student, I'll be applying this fall. I haven't taken SAT yet, so I know you can't say much now but I just want to know if it's worth trying for these colleges. Because otherwise, I won't spend time studying for SAT, I'll study for national university exams of my country.

Scores:
SAT, ACT: N/A
GPA: 99/100

Course: My school doesn't offer AP, IB etc. but our programme includes some university level courses.

ECs: Nothing much here but I can name a few:
- Playing the guitar for 6 years
- Shot a few short movies
- Developing Android apps
Next few may not worth anything, I'm not sure:
- Translating English movie,series subtitles to my language
- Blogging about computer science
And I'll found a computer science club this year and I'll give computer olimpiad lessons
And I'll found a LOL team this year
- I was invited and I attended to two selective university summer camps (one of them was in partnership with WaterlooU)
- Invited and attended national prep camps for computer olimpiads (summer & winter camps)
- I was in schools physics and chemistry olimpiad teams

Awards:
- Qualified to national science fair region finals with 1st rank from my city (in computer sc.)
- 2nd place in national science fair region finals (in comp. sc.)
- 3rd place in game developing competiton
- Qualified to national computer olimpiad second stage with 1st rank in region