right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Upcoming changes to the way we log in on College Confidential. Read more here.

Can I get into a top college such as MIT, Harvard, with a C in Math? I am a decent candidate...I hav

itsmemarshmelloitsmemarshmello 0 replies0 threads New Member
Can I get into a top college such as MIT, Harvard, with a C in Math? I am a decent candidate...I have good grades in my other classes but my teacher was not very good this year...what should I do to improve my chances and what are my chances?
10 replies
· Reply · Share

Replies to: Can I get into a top college such as MIT, Harvard, with a C in Math? I am a decent candidate...I hav

• itsmemarshmelloitsmemarshmello 0 replies0 threads New Member
    What can I do to improve my chances to get into a very good college and how could I improve my chances...
    · Reply · Share
    I am a freshman btw...
    · Reply · Share
    I am a freshman btw...
    · Reply · Share
  • ucbalumnusucbalumnus 79014 replies701 threads Senior Member
    edited November 18
    If you are in 9th grade, the main focus should be to take the hardest course options available to you and earn A grades in them. Top end high school record is a necessary (but not sufficient) condition for admission to a highly selective college. And strong high school preparation will be helpful even if you attend a college that is less selective -- you are likely to be better prepared for any college.
    edited November 18
    · Reply · Share
  • collegemom3717collegemom3717 6921 replies60 threads Senior Member
    Happily for you, MIT is genuinely helpful about this. Spend some time on the MIT admissions site, but start with this one:

https://mitadmissions.org/blogs/entry/applying_sideways/
    · Reply · Share
  • CU123CU123 3628 replies70 threads Senior Member
    Win the Google Science Fair or an international math/science competition. Those will increase your chances by quite a bit.
    · Reply · Share