Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.
Maintenance will occur on the site beginning at 10:00 am PT tomorrow morning. While it is very unlikely, this may result in intermittent down time. Thank you in advance for your understanding!

Chance a sophomore!

HSisOverratedHSisOverrated Registered User Posts: 392 Member
edited December 2007 in What Are My Chances?
posted a thread in another board but no helpful responses:

HELLO!

I'm a high school sophomore currently heated up over the exhaustion that is college admissions.

A little about me:

3.83 GPA
ASB member
Financially unfortunate
Jewish

My charter offers zero AP courses and only two honors classes, both of which I am taking. They just started honors this year, and supposedly next year they'll have history and English AP. My school operates under a policy of closed-forum, meaning no school or student sponsored clubs are allowed, although students can form clubs outside of school. My grade has ~90 kids, most of whom are ex-homeschoolers (including myself), and little academic break is between students, meaning virtually all students rank above average or average. In other words, ranking in the top 10% is kind of hard since my competition has little or no lackies. This isn't a normal p.s with ~500 kids and ~250 of them are academically below average.