right arrow
Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
COMING SOON "Ask The Expert" live event w/ the CC Dean, Sally Rubenstone, on Feb. 22 at 12:00 pm ET. This event is exclusively for registered members. CREATE YOUR CC ACCOUNT NOW to receive event updates!

I don't know whether or not to drop Spanish

aychtooOaychtooO 5 replies5 threads New Member
There are huge pros and cons for continuing Spanish:

Pros (why I should keep it):
- It has gotten me into 2 honors societies and if I quit I will be kicked out of both of them (those are my only honors societies I will probably ever get into)
- Every year I am placed into honors and get over 100% each time (I have been doing it for 3 years)
- I MAAAAAAY want to pursue med-school
- I am very passionate about world languages
- I am well on a track to completely AP Spanish with a high grade

Cons (why I should drop it):
- I don't like the language. I am not passionate about it at all and I hate speaking it in public (which I have to do pretty often in my community)

- My dream is to move to Japan, and Spanish classes simply take time away from when I could be studying a language I love vastly more: Japanese (I hope to eventually self-study AP Japanese on my own, although the grade might not be as high as if I took AP Spanish with a class) ((although if I take med-school than Spanish would be vastly superior))

- If I drop Spanish, I will have room in my Spanish to continue one of my favorite classes: Filmmaking

- I could not care less about Hispanic culture, which is like 25% of the class. I don't have any interest in moving to a Spanish-speaking country

- It gives me a lot of stress because it reminds me of the fact that I should have taken Chinese because I am very interested in East Asia and have a lot of Asian friends. Life is too short to pursue something that I do not enjoy