Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community discussions, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

• Reply to threads, and start your own.
  • Post reviews of your campus visits.
  • Find hundreds of pages of informative articles.
  • Search from over 3 million scholarships.

How much does 9 AP's vs 10 AP's matter for Yale?

yaleplzzzyaleplzzz Registered User Posts: 9 New Member
I'm a current HS sophomore trying to figure out my schedule for the coming years.

Currently my schedule for junior and senior year look like this (I already took APUSH sophomore year)

Junior:
AP Lang
AP Econ
AP Gov
Pre Calc Honors
Physics Honors
French A
Free

I will then be taking 5 AP's senior year. That adds up to a total of 9 APs. I was wondering if a school like Yale would want me to forego a free junior year (which I often rely on heavily) to take another AP, such as Computer Science Principles (known as one of the easier AP's at my school, but not that easy). What is the real difference between 9 and 10 APs in Yale admissions? Is it worth it to skip the free and take the class?

Replies to: How much does 9 AP's vs 10 AP's matter for Yale?

• LindagafLindagaf Registered User Posts: 8,267 Senior Member
    Your application will not hinge on an extra AP. Colleges don't like academic drones. Use your free period to take a class you have always been interested in. Or, keep the free period. You won't be penalized for it, and it will help you do well in your other classes. Your schedule is rigorous.
  • yaleplzzzyaleplzzz Registered User Posts: 9 New Member
    Thank you, I'm gonna go with your advice. I think I need the free.
  • Faulkner1897Faulkner1897 Registered User Posts: 407 Member