Welcome to College Confidential!

The leading college-bound community on the web

Join for FREE, and start talking with other members, weighing in on community polls, and more.

Also, by registering and logging in you'll see fewer ads and pesky welcome messages (like this one!)

As a CC member, you can:

Best university jazz programs

-Allmusic--Allmusic- Posts: 6,350Registered User Senior Member
edited December 2013 in Music Major
Can you list them?

Does anyone know the quality of Peabody's jazz program?

Are jazz programs less competitive by admissions/auditions standards than classical performance programs?

(I'm new at this, and probably too full of questions! Sorry!)
Post edited by -Allmusic- on

Replies to: Best university jazz programs

• hazmathazmat Posts: 8,435User Awaiting Email Confirmation Senior Member
  • violinmomviolinmom Posts: 191Registered User Junior Member
    University of North Texas is ranked No. 1 in the country, I believe.
  • hazmathazmat Posts: 8,435User Awaiting Email Confirmation Senior Member
    wow.......you have knowledge that I have NEVER heard. Juilliard and Lincoln Center Jazz would be my other choice.....http://www.juilliard.edu/college/music/jazz.html

You weren't too specific about what you are looking for. Composition, Performance, Music Business, Recording...........there is a lot to consider. What instrument might play into your choice of school also.
  • mommabmommab Posts: 117Registered User Junior Member
    From the University of North Texas website:
    <Established in 1947, UNT’s jazz studies program in the College of Music is a long-standing college jazz program and is widely regarded as the most respected. America’s Best Graduate Schools, published annually by U.S. News and World Report, has ranked the UNT jazz studies program No. 1 every year since 1994 when it began ranking graduate jazz programs.>